The Bone Seeker

BONE SEEKER

  • Written by: M.J. McGrath
  • Narrated by: Kate Reading
  • Series: The Edie Kiglatuk Mysteries, Book 3
  • Length: 12.6 Hours
  • Format: Unabridged
  • Release date: 07-24-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio
  • Program Type: Audiobook

Publisher’s Summary

The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic Arctic lake.

In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk is working as a summer school teacher in the Canadian Arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie enlists the help of Sergeant Derek Palliser to pursue the case, promising the girl’s Inuit family that they will uncover the truth. Meanwhile, lawyer Sonia Gutierrez investigates the toxicity of the lake and suspects that there might be a larger conspiracy involved. As the three clamber over rocky terrain under twenty-four-hour daylight, they start to unearth secrets long frozen over—risking their own lives in the process.

With stunning prose, M. J. McGrath delivers another thrill ride through a hauntingly beautiful landscape.

——————————————————

My Review ~ ★★★★ ~ 4 Stars

The Bone Seeker

“Deception and Murder in the Arctic”

 Evil swirls around the village town of Ellsmere near Glacier Ridge in Northern Alaska where the water and land are toxic and said to be taboo by the Inuit that live there.  Edie Kiglatuk, a teacher who has taken up summer classes in the village, has had a bad dream about one of her students Martha Salliaq  which is weighing heavily on her mind as traditional Inuit consider dreams to be visits from spirits.  Although Edie doesn’t consider herself to be traditional, she has a gut feeling that something terrible has happened to Martha.  And something has.  The last place that she had been was her Uncle Markoosi’s house to pick up her schoolbooks that she had left there on Saturday evening when she stopped by.  The following Monday when Martha doesn’t show up for school, Edie and Sgt. Derek Palliser go out to look for her while her uncle gets on the Red Radio to put the word out to try to find any leads.  Meanwhile, Edie and Derek discover her body partially submerged in a toxic lake near the ridge that the Inuits consider to be taboo.

While this is the third book in a series, I missed listening to the first two.  I think this could be a standalone book, however I would go for the series for a better back story.  This story is fairly long and very detail-oriented.  It’s very interesting and intricate and there are many characters that come into play.   The DOD has set up Camp Nanook outside the village with rangers that the natives consider to be outsiders and don’t trust.  At first two of them are primary suspects in Martha’s disappearance and murder but their brief encounter with Martha is investigated and cleared.  Colonel Klinsman is overly eager to help in solving the crime however they soon discover that Glacier Ridge no longer belongs to them but to the Dept. of Defense which brings in the colorful character of Sonia Gutierrez, an attorney from Guatemala working with Charlie Salliaq, who is not only the tribal elder but also Martha’s father.  Together they had won a case several years prior to have the land returned to their people and were currently in the process of trying to force the government into paying for a full contamination and clean-up of Glacier Ridge which they learn was underhandedly lost.  And there is something about it that just isn’t right.

Kate Reading’s narration is good with nice flow but you have to listen very closely to the name pronunciations along with a few other words.  It’s fairly monotone although I think she nailed the Native American dialect pretty well.   Remember that this is Kate Reading.  One of the best narrators there is and she was outstanding.  I’m not sure anyone else could have done this as well.  Overall I think this book is a great listen and well worth the time.  M.J. McGrath is a wonderful author so you can’t go wrong but I highly recommend the series.

I received a review copy of this audiobook from http://audiobookjukebox.squarespace.com/solid-gold-reviewer/

© 2014 crystalzen

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s